Prime Reactions Review – Digimon Adventure: Episode 8

1
Since the show went on hiatus, I took one even longer than the show’s. However this episode was so bad that I had to force myself out of it.

I will go back to the previous episodes… at some point.

As for this one? I sat through ~eighteen minutes of nothing. No need to summarize the entire episode because nothing happens.

What one could argue happened:
– Matt maybe considers being part of a team/having friends isn’t so bad.
– Everyone gets to the “giant rock” only for the episode to end.

So we have scenes of Matt staring at people he knows nothing about in slow-mo. Apparently, this is Matt’s big epiphany that causes the Crest of Friendship to glow. Even though he doesn’t need it, part of me thought he would unlock Weregarurumon. After Omnimon, everything’s on the table. Instead, Garurumon gets a random power up that we don’t even know if he needs to defeat Gorillamon. Why? You couldn’t structure it so that Garurumon has a hard time with Gorillamon or he gets beaten up to the point of needing a power up? Nah, do it because edgy boy Matt is super rad. You could say that it ties into Matt’s character but couldn’t he need the power up as well? Instead it’s a one-shot curbstomp. Nobody else needed a power up to defeat their opponent this episode…

Okay, all the action is out of the way so let’s get to the plot. What’s the big payoff to storming this fortress?
23
This is about the Holy Digimon? I could’ve told you that. Besides Darktyrannomon falling off a cliff, you couldn’t end on a cliffhanger? Something to latch on to for the next episode? There’s none of the gratuitous action or slow-mo you could’ve cut so Tai could say one line of important information?

Ultimate Reflections:
A complete waste. Action took priority. We didn’t learn anything. The characters didn’t interact in a meaningful way. The story didn’t progress.

I really want to know what you thought of this one. Am I just being too nitpicky? Did I miss something?

Thanks for reading. I appreciate you taking the time. Feel free to leave a suggestion for something I can review or talk about.

Leave a comment