Prime Reactions Review – Digimon Adventure: Episode 1 & 2

psiposter_january18_2020[2]

With a new re… boot? Re… telling? Re…make? Re…enactment? Re… cycling of Digimon Adventure, I decided to crawl out of my coffin to post something.

As much as I tore apart Digimon Adventure tri. in reviews, tri. apparently was enough of a hit to spawn a movie and this series. My optimistic side expected a remake that cleans up the original’s flaws. My cynical side expected a cash grab. Arguably introducing the original kids to a new generation but really baiting older fans with nostalgia.

Opening has way too much Tai. I wonder if the remaining kids will lose out beyond no Megas. For anyone who thought maybe they’ll switch up the evolution lines… not for Agumon at least. Though I don’t recall seeing Angemon among the Champions.

The art style is right out of the original and the animation is very impressive so far. It’s certainly a step up from the original. I don’t think they can keep it up every week especially without evolution sequences (yet) or stock footage (yet) padding out episodes.

I would normally talk about the episodes individually but honestly, not enough happens. The internetwork is established over the Digital World. Then they throw you into action that just goes on and on.

I was wondering how much of this show would be “things we know”. In many ways, it’s distancing itself from the original. I can’t simply use the original to predict what’ll happen. But then episode two is called War Game and it more or less is that from the missile countdown right down to… Omnimon?

Help me out, everyone. Should I be mad that Omnimon’s already here? It doesn’t break any rules because the show has no established rules. Who says they need to unlock Wargreymon and Metalgarurumon first? Is Omnimon really necessary against an episode 2 enemy or is he a chump in this series? In fairness the bad Digimon has Digivolved how many times? Did it hit Golden Frieza yet?

Ultimate Reflections:
It’s lacking the “adventure” aspect. There’s no time for the kids to take in what’s going on because the action doesn’t stop. Episode one started okay with not much going on. They didn’t really earn anything they did in episode two and homaging Our War Game already…?

I’ll try to cover two episodes twice a month but we’ll see how eventful future episodes are.

Let me know what you think so far, what I left out, and if you have any suggestions for what to review in the future. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment