Mega Bloks Power Rangers and Spongebob Squarepants Micro Action Figure Wish List

0
I wish I did this earlier as Mega Bloks’ run with Spongebob is over with Power Rangers just returning. Still, you don’t know what’s coming out until the toy line’s over and now that it is, here are my picks that I wish made it in.

Spongebob Squarepants

Lego had Spongebob before Mega Bloks and I don’t feel like Lego utilized the citizens of Bikini Bottom enough. Really, besides the doctor (Gill Gilliam), did you care about bus driver? Ice cream vendor? Robot customer? With Mega Bloks’ series 1 bags, I couldn’t tell you how excited I was to see something like the Tattletale Strangler. Did you ever think we’d get this guy? Spongebob Meets the Strangler is a fan-favorite episode so to get a figure of him was awesome. I don’t agree with every set/figure Mega Bloks did or didn’t do, but I feel they did way better than Lego in this area.

My choices may not all be feasible as some need new molds, but I don’t care at this point. I’m only picking from seasons 1-3. Sorry, kids. Your new Spongebob is far too complex for me to understand.

1. Mermaidman and Barnacle Boy –
1

How is it that Lego AND Mega Bloks never made these guys? Lego had a hero-based set with Spongebob and Patrick wearing costumes they never wore. Mega Bloks got closer with an Invisible Boatmobile set that had Spongebob and Patrick wearing Mermaidman and Barnacle Boy costumes. That’s cool and all, but I still want Bikini Bottom’s noblest, boldest, oldest super heroes!

2. The International Justice League of Super Acquaintances (IJLSA) –
2 3

An early stock image of the Invisible Boatmobile had Spongebob and Patrick in their Quickster and Elastic Waistband costumes. The final product had them in Mermaidman and Barnacle Boy costumes… Makes more sense in a Boatmobile set, but I want my IJLSA!

3. “Band Geeks” Spongebob/Squidward –
5 6

We got Squilliam in series 4 who I was excited for, but it’s a shame we didn’t get Band Geeks variants for Spongebob or Squidward. That’s easily one of Spongebob’s best and most memorable episodes. It was funny, had tons of characters, closed with an awesome but obscure song, and Squidward won for once. We couldn’t get a Band Geeks pack over one of the random variant packs we got?

4. The CHOCOLATE!!! Fish –
4

As another fan favorite episode, he would’ve been fun. Beyond Chocolate with Nuts, he was also a memorable background fish. Just give him a 1×2 brown tile to represent a chocolate bar.

5. Santa Squidward –
7

As one of my favorite Spongebob episodes and one of my favorite Christmas specials, I really wanted him. It’s one of Squidward’s few moments of kindness and for it to be during Christmas makes it 10% kinder.

6. “Deuueaugh” Fish –
8

Is that the official spelling? Either way, we all remember this face. I just want to see Mega Bloks come up with the printing for it.

7. “Leif Erikson” Spongebob –
9

I mistook the viking Spongebob in series 3 for this. When I found out it wasn’t Leif Erikson-based, I put him back. I can live without this, but everyone remembers Spongebob introducing us to Leif Erikson Day and it would’ve been nice to immortalize that with a Mega Bloks figure.

8. Old Man Jenkins (Old, fat, and green) –
10

While not the focus or breakout star of any episode, we’ve all heard the name. I feel like it’d be a shame to leave out this iteration of him.

9. The Rest –
These are simply prominent characters I feel we should’ve gotten. Objectively more important than the variants I want even if I prefer my variants.

Flying Dutchman – Got one in Lego, but not Mega Bloks
Mrs. Puff – Ditto^
Pearl – Didn’t get one from Lego or Mega Bloks
Spongebob’s Parents and Grandma – Ditto^
Man Ray (With wallet) – If I had to have one villain…
Patchy the Pirate – Tom Kenny!

Power Rangers

Power Rangers gets a bit redundant because unless you make a bunch of monsters which requires many new molds, you basically get repeats/variants of the Rangers. This gets annoying and their treatment of female Rangers can be downright annoying. If you work hard enough, you’ll get the team… However, with all the clear/metallic variants, getting all the Rangers to match is the tricky part.

1. Mighty Morphin’ White Ranger –
Seriously, why don’t we have this guy? Mega Bloks had the perfect place to stick him in the 20th anniversary Mighty Morphin’ figure set. It had the first six Rangers, but not White? It’s one thing if they planned to put him somewhere else, but without any sign or intention to, he should’ve just been in there.

This was written some months ago, but there will be a White Ranger in the upcoming blind bags for the return of Power Rangers Bloks. It only took almost three years… but the Mighty Morphin’ team will be complete at last.

2. The rest of Forever Red (Alien, Zeo, Quantum) –
In my review of the Super Megaforce Ultimate Battle Pack, I complained Ninja Storm Red was a wasted slot. In a set with four Forever Red Rangers, there is no objective reason for him. We have seven of the ten Forever Red Rangers. Why make so many of the Forever Red guys during an anniversary season if you weren’t going to make everyone?

3. Regular Vrak –
The only Vrak we got had his Earth Armor and we also got a blue variant of that. I don’t know why they didn’t start with a regular Vrak. I’ll live without it, but they should give us the standard look before all else.

4. Vekar –
We only got one main villain from each Megaforce. Vrak made sense in Megaforce, but Damaras for Super Megaforce? It could be a mold issue, but I think everybody wanted Vekar. Super Megaforce was awful, but Vekar was semi-liked. If they were just going to stick Damaras in a made-up vehicle anyway, could’ve just used Vekar.

5. Dino Charge –
Ending the list with this because the line dying at Super Megaforce made me Super Mega sad. No more “Legendary Rangers” either…

The important thing to note is that Power Rangers is returning under Mega Construx? I prefer “Bloks”, but I’ll take what I can get. It seems they’re starting with classic Mighty Morphin’ and I assume they’ll tackle the new movie and perhaps Ninja Steel. I really hope they finish off Forever Red first and foremost though the first blind bag set seems to have cut the secret figure and includes only Mighty Morphin’ characters.

Follow me on Twitter @there_d_hood for random musings and updates.
Or check out my Tumblr http://there-d-hood.tumblr.com/ for random pictures and updates.

Leave a Reply

