Review: Mega Bloks Spongebob Squarepants CNJ86 Micro Action Figures Series 4 with Codes

1
2
Front and back of the bags
I like the wavy edges but miss seeing the figures on the front.

3
Front of the sheet

45
Back of the sheet

Unlike series 3 and Ninja Turtles series 1 where the secrets came with their own instruction sheets, this one did not. Probably because there’s nothing complicated to build this time.

For some reason, they’ve changed the translucent display bricks from light blue to dark blue. I like this color, but light blue felt more right.

Public Service Announcement:
HAVE AN ADULT HELP YOU PUT THESE TOGETHER. IF YOU’RE AN ADULT, HAVE AN ADULT HELP YOU PUT THESE TOGETHER. AFTER ASSEMBLY, PREPARE TO LEAVE IT LIKE THAT BECAUSE NON-SPONGEBOB/SQUID FIGURES CAN BE IMPOSSIBLE TO TAKE APART. ONLY PUT IT TOGETHER IF YOU NEVER WANT TO TAKE THEM APART. FISH HANDS WILL STAB YOUR FINGERS. WRAP THEM IN YOUR SHIRT, THEN PUSH THEM IN.

[Names (except the secret) taken from the Mega Bloks site]

I’m not going to lie. I don’t recognize some of these. I’m one of those seasons 1-3 fans when it comes to Spongebob so I apologize for any lack of commentary because “I did not understand that reference.”

Soldier Spongebob (Common) –
The shoulders swing on a ball joint for pretty good movement and the arms rotate 360 degrees. Spongebobs from series 2+ are the most customizable figures because he’s so easy to take apart. Not to mention that his eyes can be taken out and every Spongebob has a different mouth and eyes for maximum expression swapping. Keep in mind not to shove the eyes all the way in or it might be tough to remove. Paint’s not bad on this one, but every Spongebob head I have has markings or scratches… I don’t know what’s up with the hole on the hat.

6 7 8 9

Cowgirl Sandy (Common) –
This is my first time assembling a Sandy figure. It’s actually pretty cool. Her helmet isn’t all that clear due to scruffs/scratches. I do like that she has a generic expression. Not an expert on Sandy figures, but I did need a “standard” face for her. Not only is the reused guitar the wrong kind, it’s not even brown… Her face could be more solidly painted, but it’s not too bad. After doing some research, this is from the season seven episode: Rodeo Daze. Explains the different torso and boots. I can always steal the hat for my generic Sandy to make her Texas song appearance though.

10
11 12 13

Orange Perch Perkins (Common) –
It seems they need to distinguish that this is “orange” Perch Perkins because he’s been purple too. Same arm movement, but no hand rotation. I like the microphone accessory and if the headphones were reusable on anything but Spongebob fish people, I’d like it too. He’s got some uneven paint apps and scratches.

14 15 16 17

Young Mr. Krabs (Common) –
An awesome head mold with those manly sideburns. I rarely have a problem with Mega Bloks’ actual molds because I see the effort. It’s the quality that brings them down. Comes with a hollow basket. Arms are on the usual ball joints and the claws rotate 360 degrees. The torso’s made of rubbery soft plastic. Missing some paint on his right eye and paint problems in general.

18 19 20 21

Angel Spongebob (Rare) –
I originally thought this was “Mr Krabs, I have an ideaaaaa.” from Patty Hype.
22 23

I was conveniently watching Just One Bite and found out this was “Good for your soul.”
24

I’m a bit disappointed he didn’t come with a Krabby Patty. You’d think that would be an obvious accessory. Unfortunately, the halo sticks out too far. Looks less bad from the front though. I don’t know if the soft angel wings are a new piece. Might be a reuse from Skylanders, but it works fine.

25
26 27 28

Squilliam Fancyson (Rare) –
I’m quite happy he got a figure. It’s a shame we didn’t get a “Band Geeks” Spongebob to go with him considering Band Geeks is a fan-favorite episode and where this incorrectly colored phone accessory came from. The torso’s made of rubbery soft plastic. The color is a little off compared to the sleeves. The unibrow printing is of course big and valuable. I love the face he’s making. Very true to the character. Quality isn’t too bad but they could’ve aimed the mouth printing better.

29 33
30 31 32

King Patrick (Ultra Rare) –
If there was ever a figure that validated my bold, all-caps PSA, it’s this one. I mistakenly put Patrick’s head tip in the wrong direction. Tried rotating it but it was way too tight and small for my fingers to grip it. So I stuck his staff through the bottom of his head to pop the tip out. Then the staff got stuck… In the interest of plot, he eventually got fixed, but yikes. His pants and feet will most likely not come out as well. You can store his head tip in his back as it has nowhere to go while wearing the crown. I’m quite a fan of the Patrick mold. The crown is wildly inaccurate which means it’s most likely reused from another license. Despite my initial grievances, I appreciate that his head tip was included for more customization.

34 35
36 37 38

Abrasive Spongebob (Secret Rare) –
Every secret’s been a Spongebob variant. That’s okay, but I wish they were all desirable. Not that I like hunting secret figures, but from a business standpoint, shouldn’t they be wanted figures? From a customer standpoint, it’s better if they aren’t of course. No Spongebob secret is irredeemably bad, but this is my least favorite. For one, I didn’t know what this was when I opened it. Clearly not from seasons 1-3. He’s from the season 7 episode: The Abrasive Side. I went and watched this episode and it had a lot of the tells of “today’s Spongebob”. It wasn’t one I’d watch again and I don’t know why they’d waste a secret slot on it. Was this a season 4+ fan-favorite? If so, I don’t get it but for anyone who wants it, finally?

39 41 42
40

It’s a shame that his back doesn’t have a normal Spongebob face. It’d require an entirely new head mold, but that was the whole point of this Jekyll and Hyde-like episode. The accessory confuses me. There’s nothing in the episode that resembles this. I can only guess it’s a sponge with an abrasive side, but the yellow piece should’ve been 2×1 like the green piece.

Codes –

Usually, we get an embossed code on the back of the bag which sometimes corresponds to the text on the back of display bricks. These can be extremely hard to read on Spongebob bags. The new method alongside the old is black printed text near the top of the back.

43

Remember, Mega Bloks has been changing their codes for different shipments so these may not be the codes on your store’s bags.

Soldier Spongebob (Common) – A10125CH (embossed)
Cowgirl Sandy (Common) – A13115CH (black text)
Orange Perch Perkins (Common) – A14125CH (embossed)
Young Mr. Krabs (Common) – A19115CH (embossed)
Angel Spongebob (Rare) – A20115CH (embossed)
Squilliam Fancyson (Rare) – A17115CH (black text)
King Patrick (Ultra Rare) – A12115CH (black text)
Abrasive Spongebob (Secret Rare) – A07125CH (embossed)

Ultimate Reflections:
You can guess that Angel Bob and Squilliam are my favorites along with the Sandy head. I don’t know if I can recommend the full set. As usual, just get the ones you like/know. Always be aware that Mega Bloks is not known for quality and you’ll get some bad figures more often than not. The bright side is how many unique and not reusable molds they make. Despite the bad quality, you still see where the money goes most of the time.

I wish they went more “all out” or did fan favorites. I can think of some choices that would keep this set just as diverse, but would please more fans. I’ll cover that next time with a quick wish list post for Spongebob and Power Rangers Bloks. What’s the point of wishing for toys from a dead line? Nothing!

Follow me on Twitter @there_d_hood for random musings and updates.
Or check out my Tumblr http://there-d-hood.tumblr.com/ for random pictures and updates.

Leave a Reply

